Spinning Wheel Maintenance And Questions

Hello All!

I’m a woodworker hobbyist with a confession to make: I have a weird hobby.
I’ve become enamored of tuning, repairing, and restoring spinning wheels and looms.

How did this come about? My spouse is fond of “adopting” wheels and looms that show up on
our doorstep. “Please may I come in? I promise I won’t be ANY trouble…” This is how
we’ve ended up with a house that looks more like a museum than a residence - but I digress.

After figuring out the solution to a particular challenge, I asked her to test my work - to verify that
the repair was functional. “I’m busy weaving now! Why don’t YOU learn to spin and test it yourself?”

Oh, I see! Game on. I ultimately taught myself to both spin and weave, with a large dose of osmosis.
(Okay, to be fair, she helped - okay, a lot.)

As a result, I found myself as the proud recipient of a continuing stream of wheels and looms in
need of repair and restoration. Apparently it makes a difference if you know how it’s supposed
to work.

Sometimes it’s just a cleaning and lubrication, other times antiques have been neglected and wood
has decayed, or parts are missing. Some of the most fascinating, are those wheels or looms that
have had several prior repairs - some well done, and some “not so much”. In each case, the wood
“talks to me” and tells me its history - even if its provenance is unknown. We work together to find
the solution that lets great-grandmas’ wheel return to a rightful position of “functional art.”

Fast forward to today: I repair and build looms, fiber arts tools, and wheels. I enjoy helping folks
figure out puzzles about how parts fit together. How to maintain the most popular Ashford Traditionals
(which have an annoying habit of separating at the hub), and more obscure makers and models.
I can’t offer custom fabrication for antiques in this forum, but I’m happy to offer advice.

Please let me know if I can help!

RoadFindCotton
(Copied from OurUnRaveled.com v.1)