Addi Flexiflips your input requested

Hi Sock knitters…Wondering if anyone is using the Addi Flexiflips for knitting and if so, could you tell me the following: Your overall impression. Do you use the regular or extra long. Did these replace magic loop or double points.
I have been knitting socks for about 15 years, and knit both ML and DPNs, but am not really in love with either method so I am looking for a new option.

Thanks for your input and Happy Trails,

Diana

@rollinge , I am not a sock knitter but I have recently used Flexiflips to make a stuffed toy. The process, at least to me, seems to be a combination of magic loop and dpns… if that makes any sense. I was pleased not to see the laddering I experienced when using those options in the past.

89cb640a4a36b3eb83084e42cb750918jpg.jpg

They’re absolutely brilliant, wouldn’t go back to dpns now. Never got the hang of magic loop.

@rollinge, I make all our toe-up socks with any of the several sock recipes in Cat Bordhi’s New Pathways for Sock Knitters, Book One. It’s a twist on the heel-flap style of socks where instead of working the flap, then knitting up stitches along its vertical edges, you actually increase as you work your way up the foot (or down the leg, for cuff-down), then you work the flap across the back of the heel (or under the heel, for cuff-down), joining the end of each “heel flap” row with one of the increased “gusset” (her term is “arch expansion”) stitches via a decrease. (Since it never flaps around loose, “heel flap” is probably not the most precise term.) The finished socks look reasonably the same as the more traditional style of heel-flap socks. You can see pics on any of my sock projects at http://hollybriscoe.com/project-page/.